US Navy Fighter Aircraft

There were two series of Navy/Marine Corps fighter aircraft. The original series began in 1922 and ended in 1962:

The second series began in 1962. Some of the fighters in the first series were redesignated with numbers in the new system, and new Navy fighters were added to the system.

Here are the existing Navy fighters that were redesignated:

New DesignationOld Designation
North American F-1 FuryNorth American FJ Fury
McDonnell F2 Banshee McDonnell F2H Banshee
McDonnell F3 Demon McDonnell F3H Demon
McDonnell F-4 Phantom IIMcDonnell F4H Phantom
Douglas F-6 SkyrayDouglas F4D Skyray
Convair F-7 SeaDartConvair F2Y Sea Dart
Vought F-8 CrusaderVought F8U Crusader
Grumman F-9 CougarGrumman F9F Cougar
Douglas F10 SkyknightDouglas F3D Skyknight
Grumman F-11 TigerGrumman F11F Tiger

Here are the new Navy fighters, those that were originated after 1962: